Main Page Divisional Offices Info/Forms Opinions Juror Information Judges Holidays Employment Links Electronic Case Filing
Divisional Offices - Hammond Division at Lafayette

230 N. Fourth St.
Lafayette, IN 47901



Office Hours:

   Monday-Friday, 9:00am-12:00pm and 1:00-4:00pm
Lafayette Building
Maps and Directions     

Lafayette Counties: Benton, Carroll, Jasper, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties.

Time Zone Info:

In the Lafayette sub office, Newton and Jasper counties are on Central Daylight Savings Time. The rest of the Lafayette sub office is on Eastern Daylight Savings Time.

Current Time:


In 1929, realizing the needs of Lafayette, Indiana, and at the urging of Indiana Congressman Will R. Wood, Congress authorized the design and construction of a new building housing a new post office and Courthouse at the site of the old Romanesque-style post office. The Art Deco style post office was architected under the firm of Walter Scholer who was born in Jay County, Indiana. The courthouse is at the corner of Fourth and Ferry Streets and shows a excellent example of 1930's public architecture. The two story U-shaped building is clad with Indiana Limestone. After it's opening art work was sought to enhance the interior of the building. A competition was announced and open to artists from the State of Indiana. Two murals painted by Henrik Martin Mayer were installed in the lobby. The building was placed into service on August 29, 1932 and the building was put on the National Register of Historic Places on November 28, 1980. In 1983, President Reagan signed a bill renaming the building The Charles A. Halleck Federal Building after retired Congressman Charles A. Halleck.

Quick Links

  • Fort Wayne
  • Hammond
  • Lafayette
  • South Bend
  • Phone Numbers

  • Virtual Tours

  • Lafayette Judge

    Send comments to INND Webmaster