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UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA 

HAMMOND DIVISION 

IN RE:  A GENERAL ORDER OF 
THE COURT 

) 
) 
)   
) 
) 

MOTION TO RESCIND GENERAL ORDER 2019-17A 
AND TO ADOPT REVISED COLLATERAL SCHEDULES 

Comes now, the United States of America, by Thomas L. Kirsch II, United 

States Attorney for the Northern District of Indiana, through Assistant U.S. 

Attorney, Molly Kelley, and moves the Court to issue a new General Order related 

to the fines associated with petty offenses, as described below.   

On November 13, 2019 the judges of the Northern District of Indiana entered 

General Order No. 2019-17A.  It attached collateral fine schedules for violations 

under the jurisdiction of the National Park Service and the Federal Protective 

Service.   Due to a typographical error, General Order No. 2019-17A, Exhibit A, 

omitted fine amounts for several violations.  

The United States moves the judges of the Northern District of Indiana to 

rescind General Order No. 2019-17A, and to issue a new General Order with 

complete collateral fine schedules for the National Park Service (Ex. A) and the 

Federal Protective Service (Ex. B).   

General Order No. 2020-03
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Respectfully submitted, 

THOMAS L. KIRSCH II 
UNITED STATES ATTORNEY 

By: 
/s/Molly Kelley____________ 
Molly Kelley 

 Assistant United States Attorney 
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EXHIBIT A 
 

National Park Service 
Northern District of Indiana 

 AMENDED COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE 
                                                            
 
I.  PUBLIC USE AND RECREATION 
 
36 CFR                                VIOLATION                                  FINE 
 
1.5(f)                                    Closures & Use Limits               $ 100  
 
Permits                  
 
1.6(g)(1)                               Failure to Obtain Permit        $ 200 
 

  NOTE: Engaging in an activity requiring a permit 
  without obtaining a permit 

 
1.6(g)(2)                              Violation the terms and conditions of permit       $ 200 
 
   NOTE: Obtained a permit but violated conditions 
 
   Powerless Flight (7.88 [b])          
   Fire, Smelt Season (2.13)          
   Specimen Collection (2.5)          
   Special Events (2.50)          
   Public Assemblies (2.51)          
   Sale/Distrib Printed (2.52)          
   Commercial Photography (5.5)          
   ROU Tree Removal (2.1[a][ii])                               
   ROU Occupancy (2.61)          
   Chain Saw (2.12[a][2])          
   Construction (5.7)        
   Heron Rookery (1.5)          
   Pinhook Bog (1.5)          
   Special Use Permits (1.6)                                     
 
Preservation of Natural Resources 
 
2.1 (a)(1)(i) Possess Wildlife/Fish/parts  $ 250 
 -Federally Threatened Animal  Mandatory 
 
2.1 (a)(1)(ii) Possess/Destruct Plants  $ 250 
 Federally Endangered Plants  Mandatory 
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 Rare Plants  Mandatory 
 
2.1 (a)(1)(iii)      Possessing/Destruction of Archaeologic Specimens $ 300 
 Paleontological Specimens  $ 300 
 Cultural Specimens  $ 300 
 
2.1 (a)(1)(iv) Possession/Destruction of Minerals  $ 200 
 
2.1 (a)(2) Introducing Wildlife/Plants/Fish  Mandatory 
 
2.1 (a)(3) Tossing/Rolling Rocks  $ 100 
 
2.1 (a)(4) Unauthorized Gathering/Use of Wood  $ 100 
 
2.1 (a)(5) Entering Cultural Resource  $ 200 
 
2.1 (a)(6) Disturbing Cultural Structures  Mandatory 
  
2.1 (a)(7) Possessing or using Metal Detector  $ 100 
 
2.1 (b) Shortcutting Trail/Walkway  $ 100 
 
2.1 (c)(3)(i) Possessing Undesignated Natural Products  $ 100 
 
2.1 (c)(3)(ii) Violation of Size/Quantity Limit Nat Prod  $ 100 
 
2.1 (c)(3)(iii) Unauthorized Removal of Natural Products  $ 100 
 
2.1 (c)(3)(iv) Gathering Natural Prod out of Designated Area  $ 100 
 
2.1 (c)(3)(v) Sale or Commercial Use of Natural Prod.  Mandatory 
 
Wildlife Protection 
 
2.2 (a)(1) Unauthorized Taking of Wildlife  $ 350 

 
2.2 (a)(2) Feeding, Disturbing Wildlife  $ 200 
 
2.2 (a)(3) Possessing Unlawfully Taken Wildlife  $ 350 
 
2.2 (e) Spotlighting Wildlife  $ 100 
 
Fishing 
 
2.3 (a) Fishing - State Law Applies  $ 100 
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2.3 (d)(1) Freshwater - Hook & Line Only  $ 100 
2.3 (d)(2) Freshwater - Bait Fishing  $ 100 
 
2.3 (d)(3) Chumming in Freshwater  $ 100 
 
2.3 (d)(4) Commercial Fishing  Mandatory 
 
2.3 (d)(5) Fishing by Use of Drugs, Explosives, Elec.  Mandatory 
 
2.3 (d)(6) Digging Bait Prohibited  $ 100 
 
2.3 (d)(7) Size & Species Restrictions  $ 100 
 
2.3 (d)(8) Prohibited Fishing Locations  $ 100 
 
Weapons, Traps and Nets 
 
2.4 (b)(1)(i) Possessing a Weapon, Trap, or Net  $ 250 
 
2.4 (b)(1)(ii) Carrying a Weapon, Trap, or Net   $ 250 
 
2.4 (b)(1)(iii) Using a Weapon, Trap, or Net  $ 350 
 
2.4 (c) Possessing Loaded Weapon in Vehicle  $ 250 
 
2.4 (d)  Use of Weapon, Trap, or Net - Endangering  Mandatory 
 
2.4 (e) Permit Violation  $ 200 
 
2.4 (g) Carrying or Possessing Weapon, Trap, or Net in  $ 250 
 Violation of Federal or State Law 
  
Research Specimens 
 
2.5 (a)  Collecting w/o Permit  $ 200 
 
2.5 (h) Permit Violation  $ 200 

 
Camping 
 
2.10 (b)(1) Digging, Leveling Campsite  $ 100 
 
2.10 (b)(2) Littering Campsite  $ 100 
 
2.10 (b)(3) Camping w/in 25' of Rd. or 100’ of Water  $ 100 
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2.10 (b)(4) Quiet Hours (10pm – 6am)  $ 100 
 
2.10 (b)(5)  Permanent Campsite  $ 200 
 
2.10 (b)(6) Displaying Wildlife Carcasses  $ 100 
 
2.10 (b)(7)  Connecting to a Utility  $ 100 
 
2.10 (b)(8) No Permit  $ 200 
 
2.10 (b)(9) Violation of Camping Conditions  $ 100 
 
2.10 (b)(10) Camping Outside Designated Area  $ 150 
 
2.10 (c) Permit Violation  $ 200 
 
Picnicking 
 
2.11 Picnicking in Closed Areas  $ 100 
 
Audio Disturbances 
 
2.12 (a)(1) Excessive Noise  $ 100 
 
2.12 (a)(2) Power Saw - Front Country  $ 100 
 
2.12 (a)(3) Portable Engine - Back Country  $ 100 
 
2.12 (a)(4) Public Address System  $ 100 

 
2.12 (b) Permit Violation  $ 200 
 
Fires 
 
2.13 (a)(1) Fires Outside Established Areas  $ 200 
 
2.13 (a)(2) Stoves, Lantern  $ 100 
 
2.13 (a)(3) Use that Results in Fire  $ 350 
 
2.13 (a)(4) Unattended Fires  $ 150 
 
2.13 (a)(5) Discarding Burning Material  $ 200 
 
2.13 (b) Failure to Extinguish Fire  $ 150 
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2.13 (c) Fire during High Fire Danger  $ 350 
Sanitation and Refuse 
 
2.14 (a)(1) Littering  $ 200 
 
2.14 (a)(2) Dumping Household/Commercial Garbage  $ 350 
  
2.14 (a)(3) Depositing Refuse in Plumbing Fixtures  $ 100 
 
2.14 (a)(4) Draining refuse from holding tanks  $ 200 
 
2.14 (a)(5) Bathing/Washing Items at Public Outlets   $ 100 
  
2.14 (a)(6) Polluting Park Waters  Mandatory 
 
2.14 (a)(7) Disposal of Fish Parts  $ 100 
 
2.14 (a)(8) Disposal of Body Waste  $ 100 
 
2.14 (b) Superintendent Orders  $ 100 
 
Pets 
 
2.15 (a)(1) Pets in Prohibited Areas  $ 100 
 
2.15 (a)(2) Physical Restraint  $ 150 
 
2.15 (a)(3) Unattended Pet  $ 150 
 
2.15 (a)(4) Unreasonable Noise  $ 100 
 
2.15 (a)(5) Pet Excrement  $ 100 
 
2.15(e) Pet-Resident Conditions  $ 100 
 
Horses and Pack Animals 
 
2.16 (b) Horses in Restricted Area  $ 100 
 
2.16 (c) Horses on Road  $ 100 
 
2.16 (d) Free Trailing  $ 100 
 
2.16 (e) Unreasonable Speed with Pack Animals  $ 100 
 
2.16 (f) Disturbing Horses  $ 100 
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2.16 (g) Permit Violation  $ 200 
 
Aircraft 
 
2.17 (a)(1) Aircraft on Lands/Waters  Mandatory 
 
2.17 (a)(2) Aircraft w/in 500' of Designated Area  Mandatory 
 
2.17 (a)(3) Delivery by Aircraft  Mandatory 
 
2.17 (c)(1) Superintendent's Orders  Mandatory 
 
2.17 (d) FAA Regulations Apply  Mandatory 
 
2.17 (e) Hovercraft Prohibited  Mandatory 
 
2.17 (f) Permit Violation  Mandatory 
 
Snowmobiles 
 
2.18 (c)  Snowmobiles Prohibited  $ 200 
 
2.18 (d)(1) Excessive Noise  $ 100 
 
2.18 (d)(2) Lights  $ 100 
 
2.18 (d)(3) Brakes  $ 100 
 
2.18 (d)(4) Racing/Speed  $ 100 
 
2.18 (e)(1) Age of Operator (Under 16)  $ 150 
 
2.18 (e)(2) Age of Operator (Under 12)  $ 150 
 
2.18 (e)(3) Operation w/o Adequate Supervision  $ 200 
 
Winter Activities 
 
2.19 (a) Winter Sports on Park Roads and Parking Areas  $ 100 
 
2.19 (b) Towing Behind Vehicle  $ 150 
 
2.19 (c) Area Restrictions  $ 100  
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Skating and Skateboards 
 
2.20  Skating, Skateboards Prohibited  $ 100 
 
Smoking 
 
2.21 (a) Smoking, Closed Area  $ 100 
 
Property 
 
2.22 (a)(1) Abandoned Property (over 24 hours)  $ 100 
 
2.22(a)(2) Unattended Property   $ 100 
                               
2.22 (a)(3) Failure to Turn in Property  $ 100 
 
Fees 
 
2.23 (b) Failure to Pay Recreation Fees  $ 100 
 
Misappropriation of Property or Services 
 
2.30 (a)(1) Unlawful Possession of Property  Mandatory 
 
2.30 (a)(2) Failure to Make Payment  Mandatory 
 
2.30 (a)(3) Obtaining Property/Services thru Fraud  Mandatory 
 
2.30 (a)(4) Shoplifting  Mandatory 
 
2.30 (a)(5) Receiving Stolen Property  Mandatory 
 
Trespassing, Tampering, and Vandalism 
 
2.31 (a)(1) Trespass  $ 200 
 
2.31 (a)(2) Tampering  $ 200 
 
2.31 (a)(3) Vandalism: less than $100  $ 350 
                     $100 or more  Mandatory 
 
2.31 (a)(4) Harassment with Physical Contact  Mandatory 
 
2.31 (a)(5) Obstruction  $ 300 
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Interfering with Agency Functions 
 
2.32 (a)(1)  Interfering w/an Officer  $ 350 
 
2.32 (a)(2) Violating Lawful Order  $ 350 
 
2.32 (a)(3) False Information  $ 300 
          
2.32 (a)(4) Make False Report  $ 300 
 
Report of Injury or Damage 
 
2.33 (b) Fail to Report Injury/Damage  $ 150 
 
Disorderly Conduct 
 
2.34 (a)(1)  Disorderly Conduct - Fighting  $ 300 
 
2.34 (a)(2)  Disorderly Conduct – Language, Gestures, Act  $ 300 
 
2.34 (a)(3)  Disorderly Conduct – Noise  $ 300 
 
2.34 (a)(4) Disorderly Conduct – Hazardous or Offensive Condition $ 300 

 
Alcoholic Beverages and Controlled Substances 
 
2.35 (a)(2)(i) Sale/Gift to Minor - alcohol  $ 250 
 
2.35 (a)(2)(ii) Possession by Minor - alcohol  $ 200 
 
2.35 (a)(3)(iii) Consumption/Possession Open Container  $ 150 
  in Closed Area. 
 
2.35 (b)(1) Delivery-Controlled Substance  Mandatory 
 
2.35 (b)(2) Possession-Controlled Substance  $ 350 
                                        
2.35 (c) Under Influence of Alcohol  Mandatory 
 
2.35 (c) Under Influence of Controlled Substance  Mandatory 
 
Gambling 
 
2.36 (a) Gambling  $ 100 
 



 
 

 9

 

 
Soliciting 
 
2.37 Noncommercial Soliciting  $ 100 
 
Explosives and Fireworks 
 
2.38 (a)  Use, Possession-Explosives w/o Permit        Mandatory            
       (Classified 18 USC) 
 
2.38 (b) Use, Possession of Fireworks  $ 150 
 
2.38 (c) Permit Violation  $ 200 
 
Special Events 
 
2.50 (e) Permit Violation (Special Event)  $ 200 
 
Assemblies and Meetings 
 
2.51 (j) Demonstrations in violation of regulation  $ 250 
  
Sale/Distribution of Printed Matter 
 
2.52 (j) Sale/Distribution of Printed Matter-Violation  $ 150 
  
Livestock Use 
 
2.60 (a) Livestock at Large/Using Park for Agriculture   $ 200 
 . 
2.60 (b) Permit Violation  $ 200 
 
Residing on Federal Land 
 
2.61 (a) Residing on Federal Lands w/o Permit  Mandatory 
  
2.61 (b) Permit Violation  $ 200 
 
Memorialization 
 
2.62 (a) Unauthorized Memorial  $ 150 
 
2.62 (b) Unauthorized Scattering of Human Ashes  $ 150 
 
2.62 (c) Scattering Ashes Outside Designated Area  $ 150 
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2.62 (d) Permit Violation  $ 200 
 
II.   BOATING AND WATER USE ACTIVITIES:  
 
3.2 Applicable Regulations 
 
3.2 (a) U.S.C.G. Regulations Apply  $ 150 
 
3.2 (b) State Law Applies  $ 150 
 
3.3 Permit to Operate in Park Waters 
 
3.3 Failure to Obtain Permit  $ 200 
 
3.4 Inspections 
 
3.4(b)  Failure to Follow Directions of Boarding Officer  $ 350 
 
3.5 Accidents 
  
3.5(a) Failure to Report Accident  $ 200 
  
3.6 Power Driven Vessel Requirements 
 
3.6(b) Failure to Meet State Requirements  $ 200 
 
3.7 Personal Flotation Devices 
 
3.7(a) 33 CFR Part 175 Violations  $ 150 
 
3.8 Prohibited Operations 
 
3.8 (a)(1)                        Airboat Launch/Operation                                  $ 150 
 
3.8 (a)(2)  Unauthorized Launch/Landing Site             $ 150 
 
3.8 (a)(3)  Vessel on Water not Accessible by Rd  $ 150 
 
3.8 (a)(4)  Excessive Size Restrictions  $ 150 
 
3.8 (b)(1)  Near Diver/Swimmer- No wake  $ 150 
 
3.8 (b)(2)  Regulatory Marker  $ 150 
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3.8 (b)(3)  Operating in Excess of Wake Speed  $ 150 
 
3.8 (b)(4)  Operating in Excess of Wake Speed within 100’ of: 
                (i) Downed water skier  $ 150 
                (ii) Swimmer, wader, angler  $ 150 
                (iii) Designated launch site  $ 150 
                (iv) Propelled, anchored, drifting vessel    $ 150 
 
3.8 (b)(5)  Operating Within 500' Swim Beach  $ 150 
 
3.8 (b)(6)  Riding Gunwale, Transom, Bow  $ 150 
 
3.8 (b)(7)  Riding swim platform/swim ladder  $ 150 
 
3.8 (b)(8)  Negligent Operation   $ 350 
 
3.8 (b)(9)  Grossly Negligent Operation   Mandatory 
 
3.9 Personal Watercraft (PWC) 
 
3.9(a) PWC Operation Prohibited  $ 150 
 
3.10 Operating Under the Influence 
 
3.10(a)(1) Operating Under Influence of Drugs/Alcohol  Mandatory 
 
3.10(a)(2) Operating with BAC .08 or above  Mandatory 
 
3.10(b) IC-Impaired and BAC .05 or above  Mandatory 
 
3.11 Failure to Submit to Testing 
  
3.11(a)(1) Refusal Prohibited  Mandatory 
 
3.12 Towing 
 
3.12(a) Towing of Persons Prohibited  $ 150 
 
3.12(b) Towing Airborne Device-Prohibited  $ 150 
 
3.12(c) Towing at Night  $ 150 
 
3.12(c)(2) Towing w/o Qualified Observer  $ 150 
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3.12(c)(3) Towing w/o PFD  $ 150 
 
3.12(c)(4) Towing which endangers  $ 250 
 
3.12(c)(5) Towing/Exceeding Passenger Limit  $ 150 
 
3.12(c)(6) Towing with rope over 20’ long  $ 150 
 
3.13 Marine Sanitation Device (MSD) 
 
3.13(a) Sewer Discharge into fresh water  $ 350 
 
3.13(b) Failure to lock/secure discharge valve  $ 200 
 
3.14 Sunken, Grounded, Disabled Vessel 
 
3.14(a) Requirements to remove  $ 150 
 
3.15 Noise Abatement 
 
3.15(a) Vessel exceeding noise levels  $ 150 
 
3.16 Swimming and Wading 
 
3.16(a)(1) Swimming in Closed Area  $ 100 
 
3.17 Swimming Areas and Beaches 
  
3.17(b) Use of surfboard or similar rigid devices  $ 100 
 
3.17(c) Prohibited Uses (Flotation Devices, Glass  $ 100 
 Containers, Sporting Activities, etc.) 
 
3.18 Scuba/Snorkeling 
 
3.18(a) Scuba/Snorkel in Swim Area  $ 100 
 
3.18(b) Diving w/o flag  $ 100 
 
3.18(c) Night diving w/o illuminated flag  $ 100 
 
3.18(d) Diving or surfacing outside 100’ of flag  $ 100 
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3.19 Submersibles 
 
3.19 Op manned/unmanned submersible w/o permit   $ 200 

 
III.  VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC SAFETY                 
         

**Motor Vehicle code - State of Indiana assimilated under 36 CFR 4.2, State law applies.** 
 
INDIANA CODE            VIOLATION  FINE 
 
 **Vehicle Registration/License Plates** 
 
IC 9-18-2-7(h) Expired License Plate  $ 150 
 
IC 9-18-2-21(b) Registration not in Possession  $ 100 
 
IC 9-18-2-26(e) License Plate not Displayed  $ 100 
 
IC 9-18-2-27(a)(1) Displaying Incorrect Registration Number  $ 200 
 
IC 9-18-2-27(a)(2) Displaying Fictitious Registration Number  $ 300 
 
IC 9-18-2-29(b) Vehicle Not Registered  $ 150 
 
IC 9-18-6-5(a)(2) No Plates w/ in 31 Days Purchase  $ 100 
 
 **OPERATOR'S PERMIT** 
 
IC 9-24-1-1(c) Driving w/o Valid Operator License, Permit,  $ 200  
 or Motorcycle Endorsement 
 
IC 9-24-7-6 Learner's Permit w/o Adult  $ 150 
 
IC 9-24-8-5 MC Learner's Permit w/o Helmet  $ 100 
 
IC 9-24-8-5 MC Learner's Permit After Dark  $ 100 
 
IC 9-24-8-5 MC Learner's Permit w/Passenger  $ 100 
 
IC 9-24-13-5 Drivers License not in Possession  $ 100 
 
IC 9-24-18-1(a) Unlicensed Driver  $ 200 

(Use for never had license and/or out of state drivers found operating with a suspended/revoked license) 
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IC 9-24-18-2(a)(1) Display, Possess a Fictitious, Altered,   $ 250 
 Cancelled, Revoked License or Permit  
   
IC 9-24-18-2(a)(2) Driver's License Lent to Another  $ 200 
 
IC 9-24-18-2(a)(3) Display Driver’s License of Another  $ 200 
 
IC 9-24-18-2(a)(4) Fail to surrender suspended/cancelled/revoked license $ 200 
 
IC 9-24-18-3 Permitting Unlicensed Person to Drive  $ 200 
  
 Driving While Suspended or Revoked: 
IC 9-24-19-1 Infraction  $ 250 
IC 9-24-19-2 Prior suspension in last 10 yrs  Mandatory 
IC 9-24-19-3 Prior misdemeanor conviction  Mandatory 

(Type of suspension will be shown on the IDACS Driving record) 
 

**FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY** 
 
IC 9-25-4-1(c) No Insurance or Financial Responsibility  $ 250 
 

**PARKING/MOVING VIOLATIONS** 
 
IC 9-21-8-52 Reckless Driving  Mandatory 
 
IC 9-21-8-2(a) Driving Left of Center  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-5(1) Illegal Passing on Left  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-5(2) Accelerating while Being Passed  $ 100 
  
IC 9-21-8-6(b) Illegal Passing on Right  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-7 Unsafe Passing on Left  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-8(b) Prohibited Passing on Left  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-14 Following Too Close  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-21 Improper Turn  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-22 Improper U-Turn  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-25 Fail to Use Turn Signals  $ 100 
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IC 9-21-8-29 Fail to Yield Right of Way at Intersection  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-30 Fail to Yield Right of Way – Left Turn  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-34 Fail to Yield Right of Way – Private Drive   $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-35 Fail to Yield Right of Way – Emergency Vehicle  $ 250 
  
IC 9-21-8-38 Driving in Safety Zone.  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-7-13 Driving without Lights After Dark  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-51 Fail to Dim Lights  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-17-2 Television in Vehicle  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-16-9 Parking Along Highway  $ 100 
 
IC 5-16-9-5 Parked in Handicapped Space  $ 200 
 
IC 9-21-8-43 Obstructed Driver View/Control  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-44 Coasting Prohibited  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-59(a)(1) Typing Text Message while Driving  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-59(a)(2) Transmit Text Message while Driving  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-8-59(a)(3) Read Text Message while Driving  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-12-7 Following Fire Truck  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-12-1 Passing School Bus  $ 350 
 
IC 9-21-6-1 Drag Racing  $ 200 
 
IC 9-21-7-1 Unsafe Vehicle  $ 150 
 
 **BICYCLE** 
 
IC 9-21-11-3(a)(2) Carry Passengers  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-11-5 Hitching to a vehicle  $ 100 
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IC 9-21-11-7 Carrying Pkgs., etc.  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-11-8 Audible Device Req.  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-11-9 Lights required at night  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-11-10 Working Brakes  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-11-11 All Traffic Rules Apply  $ 100 
 

ALSO REFER TO SEE 36 CFR 4.30 FOR OTHER BICYCLE REGULATIONS-PROHIBITIONS 
 
 **PEDESTRIAN** 
 
IC 9-21-17-10 Jaywalking  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-17-11 Use Right Half Crosswalk  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-17-9 Fail to use Crosswalk  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-17-13 Fail to use Road Shoulder  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-17-14 Fail to Keep to Outside Edge  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-17-15 Fail to Yield to Vehicles  $ 100 
 
 **EQUIPMENT** 
 
IC 9-19-6-4(e) No License Plate Light  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-6-17 No Brake Lights/ Turn Signals  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-6-18 No Backup lights  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-5-2 Excessive use of horn  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-8-3 No Muffler  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-12-1 No Rearview Mirror  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-4-1 No Bumper  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-19-6 No Windshield Wiper  $ 100 



 
 

 17

 

 
IC 9-19-18-1 Tires  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-7-2 Motorcycle Equipment  $ 100 
 
IC 9-19-11-2 Child Restraint: Under 8 years  $ 350 
 
 **MOTORCYCLE** 
 
IC 9-21-10-1 More than One (1) Passenger  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-10-2 Passengers Position – Cannot Interfere  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-10-4 Sitting Sideways  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-10-5 No Headlight on  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-10-6 Operating more than Two (2) Abreast  $ 100 
 

**MOTORIZED BICYCLES** 
 
IC 9-21-11-12(1) Under 15 Operating  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-11-12(2) W/O ID or License  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-11-12(3) Operating on Sidewalk  $ 100 
 
IC 9-21-11-12(4) Faster than 25 mph  $ 100 
 
"All other State of Indiana Motor Vehicle Code violations which are punishable as misdemeanors under 
State law are made part of this collateral fine list and carry a collateral fine of $100.00" 
 
36 CFR                    VIOLATION  FINE 
 
4.4 (a) Fail to Report Accident  $ 250 
 
4.4 (b) Removing Vehicle from Scene  $ 250 
 
4.10 (a) Operating Off Designated Routes  $ 250 
 -With Resource Damage  Mandatory 
 
4.10 (c)(1) Operating w/o Pneumatic Tires  $ 100 
 
4.10 (c)(2) Causing Unreasonable Damage  Mandatory 
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4.10 (c)(3) No Headlights After Dark-ORV  $ 100 
 
4.11 (b)(1) Exceeding Load/Weight/Size  $ 100 
 
4.11 (b)(2) Failure to Obtain Permit  $ 200 
 
4.11 (b)(3) Permit Violation  $ 200 
 
4.11 (b)(4) Detachable Mirror extending over 10”  $ 100 
  (When Not Towing)   
 
4.12 Fail to comply w/ Traffic Control Device    $ 100 
 
4.13 (a) Obstructing Traffic by Stopping/Parking  $ 100 
  
4.13 (b) Obstructing Traffic/Too Slow  $ 100 
 
4.14 (b) Open Alcohol Beverage Container  $ 200 
 
4.15 Seat Belt Violation  $ 100 
 
4.20 Fail to Yield to Pedestrian/Livestock  $ 100 
 
4.21(c) Exceeding Speed Limit  
 - 15 MPH or Less Over Limit  $ 100 
 - 16 MPH to 29 MPH Over Limit  $ 150 
 - 30 MPH or Over Limit  $ 200 
 
4.22 (b)(1) Careless Driving  $ 250 
 
4.22 (b)(2) Squealing Tires  $ 100 
 
4.22 (b)(3) Failing to Maintain Control  $ 200 
 
4.22 (b)(4)(i) Passenger Being Towed  $ 150 
 
4.22 (b)(4)(ii) Passenger on exterior of Vehicle  $ 150 
 
4.23 (a)(1) Driving Under the Influence  Mandatory 
 
4.23 (a)(2)  DUI - BAC 0.08 or greater  Mandatory 
 
4.23 (c)(2) Refuse Alcohol Test  Mandatory 
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 **BICYCLES** 
 
4.30 (h)(1)      Unauthorized Area  $ 100 
    
4.30 (h)(3) No Light or Reflector at Night   $ 100 
  
4.30 (h)(4) Cycling Abreast  $ 100 
 
4.30 (h)(5) Cycling while Consuming Alcohol  $ 200 
 
4.30(h)(6) State Law Violation  $100 
  
 **HITCHHIKING PROHIBITED** 
 
4.31 Hitchhiking Prohibited  $ 100 
 
IV.   COMMERCIAL AND PRIVATE OPERATIONS                     
                                                           
5.1                          Advertisements  $ 200 
 
5.3                          Business Operations  $ 250 
 
5.5 (a) Commercial Photography – Filming/Still Photography $ 250 
       
5.5 (b) Commercial Photography- Audio Recording Violation $ 250 
 
5.6 (b) Commercial Vehicles  $ 250 
 
5.7 Construction of Buildings or Other Facilities  $ 250 
    
5.8 (a) Unlawful Discrimination with Employment Practices Mandatory 
 
5.8 (b) Failure to Post Required Notice  $ 100 
 
5.9 (a) Discrimination in Furnishing Accommodations  Mandatory 
 
5.9 (b) Failure to Post Required Notice  $ 100 
 
5.13               Nuisances                          $ 150 
 
5.14  Prospecting - Mining  Mandatory 
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Other Indiana Statutes:       ** Assimilated under 18 USC 13, State law applies ** 
 
INDIANA CODE            VIOLATION                    FINE 
   
IC 35-44-3-3(a) Resisting or Fleeing Law Enforcement  $ 350 
 
IC 35-45-4-1(a)(1) Public Indecency, Sexual Intercourse  $ 300 
 
IC 35-45-4-1(a)(2) Public Indecency, Other Sexual Conduct   $ 300 
 
IC 35-45-4-1(a)(3)             Public Indecency, Nudity  $ 300 
 
IC 35-45-4-1(a)(4)             Public Indecency, Fondling own or other persons genitals      $ 300 
 
IC 35-45-4-1.5(d)(2)          Public Nudity  $ 150 

 
IC 35-46-1-8       Contributing to Delinquency of Minor         $ 300  
 
IC 35-46-1-10.5 Juvenile in possession of tobacco  $ 100 
  
IC 35-46-3-1       Harboring a Non-Immunized Dog      $ 200 
 
IC 35-46-3-7       Abandonment or Neglect of Vertebrate Animal    $ 300               
    
IC 35-47-2-1       No Handgun Permit                  $ 300 
 
IC 35-48-4-8.3(a)  Possession of Paraphernalia          $ 150               
 

"All other State of Indiana Criminal Code violations punishable as Class B or C misdemeanors or 
infractions under State law are made part of this collateral fine list and carry a collateral fine of $150.00" 



EXHIBIT B 

Federal Protective Service 
Northern District of Indiana 

AMENDED COLLATERAL FINE SCHEDULE 
 

41 CFR 102- VIOLATION FINE 
74.380 Preservation of Property 

(a) Improperly disposing of rubbish on property 
 

(b) Willfully destroying or damaging property 
Damage under $100 

 
Damage $100 or more 

 
 

(c) Stealing property 
Property under $100 

Property $100 or more 

 
 

(d) Creating any hazard on property to persons or 
things 

 
 

(e) Throwing articles of any kind from or at a 
building or the climbing upon statues, fountains or any 
part of the building 

 
$250 

 
 

$250 
 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

 
 

$250 
 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

 
 

Persons: $500 
Things: $200 

 
 

$250 

74.385 Failure to comply with official signs or lawful direction 
of Federal police or other authorized persons 

$200 

74.390 Loitering, disorderly conduct, or (a) conduct that 
creates loud or unusual noise or a nuisance; (b) 
obstructs use of entrances, parking lots, or interior 
spaces, (c) impedes or disrupts the performance of 
official duties by government employees; or (d) 
prevents the general public from obtaining 
administrative services on the property in a timely 
manner. 

$500 

74.395 Participating in games for money or personal property, 
operating gambling devices, conducting a lottery or 
pool, selling or purchasing number tickets. 

$200 



74.400 (a) Being under the influence, using, or possessing 
illegal drugs; 

 
(b) Operating a motor vehicle on the property while 
under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, hallucinogens, 
marijuana, barbiturates, or amphetamines 

$500 
 
 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

74.405 Being under the influence or using alcoholic beverages 
without a written exemption from the responsible 
agency head. 

$200 

74.410 Soliciting alms, soliciting commercial or political 
donations, vending merchandise, displaying or 
distributing commercial advertising, collecting private 
debts (except as specified in 74.410(a)-(f). 

$200 

74.415 (a) Distributing free samples of tobacco products; (b) 
Posting/affixing materials such as pamphlets or flyers 
on GSA-controlled property except as authorized; (c) 
Distributing materials such as pamphlets or flyers 
without a permit and not as part of authorized 
Government activities. 

 
$100 

74.420 Taking photographs in space occupied by a tenant 
without permission of the occupying agency 

$100 

74.425 Animals for other than official purposes or to assist a 
disabled person. 

$100 

74.430 Driving in unsafe manner, failing to comply with 
signals and directions of Federal police officers or other 
authorized individuals, failure to comply with posted 
traffic signs or directives, blocking entrances, 
driveways, walks, loading platforms, or fire hydrants, 
and parking without a permit, in reserved spaces, or 
contrary to posted signs. 

$100 

74.435 Carrying or possessing explosives or items intended to 
be used to fabricate an explosive or incendiary device. 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

74.440 Possession of firearms or other dangerous weapons 
without authorization 

Mandatory 
Appearance 

 


