## RESOLUTION OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

WHEREAS, James Tyne Moody, a remarkable public servant, who was appointed a federal district judge on February 9, 1982, has served his state and country with distinction as a United States District Judge for the Northern District of Indiana since assuming the bench on February 24, 1982; and

WHEREAS, James Tyne Moody became a senior judge on June 17, 2003, yet retained a full caseload until July 31, 2016; and

WHEREAS, James Tyne Moody served as a magistrate judge for the Northern District of Indiana from July 2, 1979 until February 23, 1982; and

WHEREAS, James Tyne Moody was a highly respected lawyer during his years in private practice from 1964 until 1972; and also served as a city attorney of Hobart from 1964 until 1973 and East Gary, which is now Lake Station, from 1966 until 1970; and preceding his appointment to the bench, served as Judge of Lake County Superior Court from 1972 to 1979; and further served the education community as faculty at Indiana University teaching business law from 1977 until 1980; and

WHEREAS, James Tyne Moody was a leader and role model for all lawyers in the legal profession throughout his legal career; and

WHEREAS, James Tyne Moody was instrumental in the design and construction of the United States Courthouse at 5400 Federal Plaza, Hammond, Indiana, and did so while maintaining a full caseload of criminal and civil cases.

*NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED*, that the court on this date has determined to honor the historic life, career, and legacy of James Tyne Moody and to give testimony to his remarkable stewardship in the courtroom, and to recognize his significant contributions to the design and construction of the Hammond Courthouse and the courtroom in which he has presided since 2002. Thus, the court hereby Designates and Dedicates to the honor of its judicial brother, Judge James Tyne Moody, the 4<sup>th</sup> floor courtroom of the United States Courthouse at 5400 Federal Plaza, Hammond, Indiana, in which he presides, as "The James Tyne Moody Courtroom" by which it shall henceforth be known and outside of which shall be hung his official portrait along with an appropriate plaque memorializing this occasion and this Resolution.

ALL OF WHICH IS SO RESOLVED this 28th day of May 2021.

<u>/s/ Jon E. DeGuilio</u> Jon E. DeGuilio, Chief Judge

/s/ Robert L. Miller, Jr. Robert L. Miller, Jr., Judge

<u>/s/ Theresa L. Springmann</u> Theresa L. Springmann, Judge

/s/ Holly A. Brady Holly A. Brady, Judge /s/ William C. Lee William C. Lee, Judge

<u>/s/ Philip P. Simon</u> Philip P. Simon, Judge

<u>/s/ Joseph S. Van Bokkelen</u> Joseph S. Van Bokkelen, Judge

/s/ Damon R. Leichty Damon R. Leichty, Judge