## UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

## IN RE: THE MATTER OF THE APPOINTMENT OF A MERIT SELECTION PANEL TO CONSIDER APPLICANTS FOR THE POSITION OF MAGISTRATE JUDGE

General Order 2023-36

## **GENERAL ORDER APPOINTING MERIT SELECTION PANEL**

The Court hereby designates and appoints the following named persons, each of whom meets the requisite residential connection to the Northern District of Indiana, as the Chairperson and members of the Merit Selection Panel to consider applicants for the position of United States Magistrate Judge for the Northern District of Indiana, given the anticipated vacancy created by the upcoming retirement in August of United States Magistrate Judge Michael G. Gotsch, Sr.:

Timothy M. Curran, Attorney, Chairperson of the Panel Hon. Stephanie E. Steele, Attorney Nicholas T. Otis, Attorney Jerome Flynn, Attorney Kelly J. Hartzler, Attorney James N. Thiros, Attorney Dinah Sampson, Attorney Duane Wilson, Non-Attorney (COO of the Boys & Girls Club) Michael Carrington, Non-Attorney (Former US Marshal; Community Member)

All Panel members have been advised in writing of the restriction set forth in §420.30.20(d)(1) of the Regulations of the Judicial Conference of the United States Establishing Standards and Procedures for the Appointment and Reappointment of United States Magistrate Judges with respect to the one-year period that must separate such service and consideration for an open magistrate judge position. The Merit Selection Panel shall convene and meet as necessary to review the applicants for the position, to consider their personal characteristics and professional qualifications, and to conduct such interviews as they deem appropriate (while maintaining the requirement of confidentiality). On or before **March 8, 2024**, the Panel shall submit to the Court their report designating the five applicants whom the Panel finds most qualified to serve the Northern District of Indiana as a United States Magistrate Judge.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: December 12, 2023

/s/ Holly A. Brady Holly A. Brady, Chief Judge

/s/ James T. Moody James T. Moody, Judge

<u>/s/ Theresa L. Springmann</u> Theresa L. Springmann, Judge

/s/ Jon E. DeGuilio Jon E. DeGuilio, Judge /s/ William C. Lee William C. Lee, Judge

/s/ Philip P. Simon Philip P. Simon, Judge

<u>/s/ Joseph S. Van Bokkelen</u> Joseph S. Van Bokkelen, Judge

/s/ Damon R. Leichty Damon R. Leichty, Judge