You are here

South Bend Division

204 S. Main St.
South Bend, IN 46601

Phone:   (574) 246-8000

Office Hours:   Monday-Friday, 9:00am - 4:00pm

South Bend Counties:  Cass, Elkhart, Fulton, Kosciusko, LaPorte, Marshall, Miami, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke and Wabash Counties.   

Time Zone Info:  The South Bend Division is on Eastern Daylight Savings Time.  

South Bend Judges


During the first quarter of the 20th Century, South Bend's businesses and population were increasing at an unexpectedly rapid rate and the 1898 Post Office, could not keep up. In November of 1930, the Treasury Department succeeded in acquiring the lot adjacent to the existing Post Office increasing the site to an adequate size.

In December of 1930, the design contract for a new post office was awarded to the local architectural firm of Austin & Shambleau. The general layout and design was developed by N. Roy Shambleau.

The building style, sometimes referred to as "starved classicism", was just beginning to evolve. Prior to this era, most federal government buildings were neo-classical in design. But the Modernist movement was gaining strength in federal architecture with ideals of more universal spaces, the flat facade, and the lack of ornamentation. This resulted in a block form building with fluted pilasters alternating with shallow windows creating virtually flat facades. The internal space often became more open, flexible and interchangeable. The ornamentation - a symbolic classical motif - became more abstract and pared-down.

The construction documents were completed by the end of June, 1931. Demolition of the existing building was followed by excavation, pouring foundations, placing the granite base, brick masonry faced with Indiana limestone and Vermont granite veneer, and laying the cornerstone. The new Post Office and Court House was ready for occupancy the first week in March, 1933, a week before completion was scheduled.

The building served its original purpose for fifty years. In 1983, the postal service moved from the building to a new facility. An extensive renovation project ensued converting the former postal service area for use by the federal courts and offices. On October 23, 1992, the building was named after Judge Robert A. Grant.